legos and buddhism

After cooking in my kitchen for about an hour, I decided to visit my son and lie down on my yoga mat which had become a lego construction site.

He was busily creating robots and buildings. I started to make some encouraging comments and ask some questions about his creations. I saw a tower that he’d built. I said “that tower is really good.” He said, “no it’s bad”.

I immediately became a little tense and questioned him about why he was being so negative. I went into my own age-appropriate sermon on ‘the power of positive thinking.’

Then I finally paused to breath and he said, “No Dad. The tower is bad because it’s for prisoners.”

Hmmm? I apologized and we laughed at my hasty remarks.

There must be a buddhist lesson built into this. It wasn’t obvious until the next day. Discussing this funny story with a good dharma buddy, he reminded me that I had attached an entire history to that little incident. I projected fearsĀ and tried to correct my sons behavior as soon as it occurred. But I wasn’t seeing. I wasn’t being patient. I wasn’t present. My robotic habit of acting on old experiences and projecting them into the situation had arisen.

About MY MS and Yoga Life

yoga instructor, artist. diagnosed with MS in 2005
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to legos and buddhism

  1. Aimee says:

    Though sometimes he does get a little down on himself…So it’s normal for you also to think that maybe he was doing that again? You are such a good dad.

Leave a Reply

