city blocks

Walking fast to my car. As fast as I can. I probably already have a ticket. I have 3 minutes to walk what  takes about 6 minutes at my normal gait. But I must beat the “meter guy”. I really do not want another ticket.

I realize that I am tense. My belly tight and my hands in fists. My thoughts  are negative and rapidly jumping from topic to topic. I keep coming back to “will I make it”.

Wait a second. Why can’t I walk fast but be relaxed and positive. I still can beat the “meter guy”. I begin to witness my thoughts instead of being consumed by them. Within a few paces I realize how silly this is. I pay attention to my legs. Yes they are moving fast. Just what I want them to do. But now I am realizing what they are doing. And appreciating that I even have legs and feet that work so well. I’ll keep them moving like this. Now I bring my attention to my belly. It’s easy to relax the belly now that I am aware of the tension there.  A tight belly doesn’t get me to my car faster. It only makes me uncomfortable and is the manifestation of nervousness. I soften the area.

I’m now in tune with my good legs, and my relaxed torso. My mind is now appreciating the act of walking and my breath is smooth and long. The walk becomes meditation.

As I turn the corner I see my car. There is no “meter guy”. There is no ticket. Just as i thought.

About MY MS and Yoga Life

yoga instructor, artist. diagnosed with MS in 2005
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to city blocks

  1. Aimee says:

    Though, if I recall, you did get a ticket the day before.

    But I’m glad you were able to realize that you were putting undue stress on your body in running to the car without paying attention to what you were doing.

  2. That’s right. It would have been my second ticket in 3 days.
    Thank you for reminding me.

  3. Judy says:

    Welcome to the MS blogging community. Good luck on your journey.
    Judy

Leave a Reply

