The Rules of the House

Early sunday morning while getting ready for yoga class, my son asked me, “what are the rules of the house.” For just an instant, I reverted back to the household I grew up in and thought about those kinds of rules. You take the garbage out. The garage floor should be swept clean. Feed the chickens. Cut some firewood. The rules were underscored by a cold, unloving environment.

The answer to my son’s question surfaced just as quickly after I detached from the flash of old memories.

The rules of the house I explained, “are love, kindness, compassion and patience.”
He smiled, rolled around on the couch and then asked me, “Which is faster? Our car or a cheetah?” I did my best with that one and kept preparing for yoga class.

It has been about 10 years of reading and studying buddhist and yogic texts that allowed this answer to become available to me when it was needed.

During the class later that morning, I related that fresh story about our “rules of the house.” Luke was on his mat next to me and there were about 12 students in the room in front of us. My eyes were closed but I heard some giggles around the room. I took a quick look at Luke and we smiled at each other.

During the asanas I conveyed that a person’s body is their first house and these are great rules by which to govern. If you are in a difficult yoga pose be sure to apply love, kindness, compassion and patience.
Yoga is much more enjoyable and effective this way. After class it’s easier to apply this feeling of balance and goodness to the rest of your time.

About MY MS and Yoga Life

yoga instructor, artist. diagnosed with MS in 2005
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Rules of the House

  1. Aimee says:

    The rules of my house is that it’s better when you’re in it.

Leave a Reply

