gentle yoga: at peace right where you are

I’ll teach a Gentle Yoga class tonight. One of my favorites. I have a good theme for this evening. I’m not always big on needing a theme, but relevant, modern day events always seem to surface.

I was in a conversation with 2 women at our community pool in Princeton. For the most part I chose to not take part in it (non-attachement, right!). During the conversation I had to note that we were surrounded by 3 beautiful pools. Laughing and playing children. A snack bar. Green lawns for lounging. Further more, outside this secure haven is Princeton, NJ. Lively culture. Intellects of international status everywhere. Fun coffee shops. Great restaurants (especially Masala Grill). Live music. Energetic students. Top-rated public schools. Lots of yoga and thriving health food markets. The list can go on and on.

The 2 women talking took refuge in each other and agreed that this is not a great town.

They asked me how I liked it here. I said “I really like it here”. They reassured each other that this is not a good place. Then I said, “I like wherever I am.”  One of the women looked at me with a sour face and waved me off, “oh, you sound just like my husband.”

It’s a choice. “What you think, grows.”-Buddha

About MY MS and Yoga Life

yoga instructor, artist. diagnosed with MS in 2005
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to gentle yoga: at peace right where you are

  1. Aimee says:

    I’m happy whenever I’m with you.

Leave a Reply

